Wednesday, January 18, 2017

Eating alone

This post is a big shout out to all who feel nervous to do anything alone. My message : Just do it once (even if it is with fake confidence). Allow me to tell you my experience regarding this. 

                    All my childhood I had been a shy person. As I grew up, I slowly shed my shyness, but I still craved for human company. I was somewhat of what you call  a clingy kind of person. I was a person who hated to stand out alone in front of a movie theatre if the person with me has gone even to get tickets .I just felt people staring at me everywhere if I am out alone. My spouse hated me for it some times, and I was hurt thinking that how can he not want me by his side all the time. After all, that is what guys are supposed to expect. Slowly, I started understanding his irritation and tried my best to start spending time alone. But, I was nervous, shy, scared, embarrassed to go out alone. It was somewhere in those days, when I put it on my bucket list : "Go out alone for lunch". I have read similar lines in a lot of self-improvement articles. In fact, today morning, I came across this line on Pinterest, and my reaction was : Gotcha ! I now know how much fun it is ! "


                         Yeah, that's true ! I finally struck it out of my bucket list about a fortnight back. I was sick for a few days at that time, due to vomiting and indigestion. I used to feel hungry but didn't have the appetite to eat anything at all. One day, at work, I just decided to eat a lot of good food and then wait and watch whether the vomiting continues or stops. Coincidentally, my only close friend/collegaue was on leave that day. I was nervous, obviously. But, I braced myself up and thought of just doing it. I was damn hungry since I had skipped breakfast (some internal issues with spouse). I just walked down to the nearest restaurant from my office and ordered a large plate of "Handi Biryani". Handi Biryani is just a kind of biryani that comes in a pot and it is a favourite of mine. It was a bit more for me, but when it comes to food, my stomach can just expand quite a lot when I want it to. I selected a window side table to feel satisfied in my own company. Initially, I felt  alot of eyes on me probably thinking "Is this girl really going to eat this entire pot of biriyani here?". The waiter even asked me whether I would like to take it away or eat it there. I just said I am gonna eat.


                      So, there I was, sitting alone with nobody to disturb while I indulge myself in the heavenly bites of my favourite food. Once I started eating, I felt happy, kind of proud even. I felt independent to a different extent that day. All the discomfort, embarrassment and shyness just faded away with each bite. After a while, I even sensed a few eyes on me looking with respect. (Of course, even the judgemental look as well the adoration looks were both products of my overthoughtful mind). 


                    And now, I am so addicted to doing this, that I just don't call my friend when I go for lunch, and she gets upset with me sometimes due to this. That's a full circle I guess. From me being in the place where I used to get upset with my spouse, to being in the place where someone is getting upset with me for the very same reasons.

Haha !!! Now I feel wise :) So, all you guys and girls out there who are scared or nervous to have fun alone, plaese trust me and do it once, and while at it, genuinely try to enjoy your own company. And, you will want to do it again and again and yet, again. It works, really !
             My next wish is to go for for a movie alone. Will let you know about it once I get through it.

Thursday, July 9, 2015

McDonalds Always :)

This incident happened sometime when I was not keeping well for a few days, my in-laws were visiting us at that time and I was feeling myself under pressure. There was some problem with my mouth. I had a wisdom tooth growing in and it caused severe pain. To spice that up, I had got swollen gums and two mouth ulcers.
                     The result was I could not chew, that too for almost 6-7 days, except for a day when I got a real yummy burger at McDonalds where I forgot my pain for sometime due to the delicious burger.
                     Hubbo dear took me to the doctor, got me a pile of medicines which did not seem to help much. I was literally crying and feeling helpless. After trying all options, what he suggested was : U ate well that day in McDonalds, lets go and eat there all the time so that u feel better all the time. Ha ha ha ha.... Now, that is a suggestion only my super cute Hubbo can give...

Tuesday, July 7, 2015

Welcome To Our Hideout

Hey Guys...

After our recent shift of house, the front door was kinda looking very bland and boring. And I can't stand anything boring. I desperately needed to add a little charm to the entrance. Before I can make a few more decorative pieces, here is one quilled welcome poster fixed on our main door. I found this design somewhere on the web, but tweaked it to suit my taste.






;) tell me how u find it .





Aaj...(A Hindi poem)

Aaj... Tere mere milne ki raat hai...
Aaj... Pehli ikraar ki raat hai...

Kyun aisi bardh gayi hai jarooratein
Sagar ke lehron si hui hai chahatein

Ab tujhko paa ke hum sanwar jaayenge
Teri khusboo ko hi apna kar jaayenge

Aaj...Khud ko bhoolne ki raat hai
Aaj... ek doosre me dhhalne ki raat hai

Saansein bhi ab chal rahi ... Ruk ruk ke
Dekh raha hai jaise koi... Chhup chhup ke

Khamosh honge zubaan... dhadkanein bolenge
Halki si roshni kahin door, par hawaaein sehlaayenge

Aaj... chaand ko choom lene ki raat hai...
Aaj...Pyar me mar mitne ki raat hai...

Kaash, aaj raina zara aur lambi ho jaaye
Hum dono ko dekhke waqt bhi thheher jaaye

Thodi si besharmi bhi hum kar jaayenge
Tadap rahe hain itna ki, aag se bhi khel jaayenge

Aaj... Duniya se na drrne ki raat hai
Aaj... Zindegi zee lene ki raat hai...
Khushiyan pee lene ki raat hai...

Wednesday, July 24, 2013

The Rain Fantasy

                                                    
          

  All my childhood and teens, I used to imagine what it would feel like to get drenched in the rain. Once, I had got the chance when I was in school in 9th or 10th standard. I had a raincoat which could keep the heavy rain away from me, and when I got half wet, I thought it was better to get completely wet rather than half, and so, I took off my raincoat and allowed myself. :) It was fun then, but  I still imagined what it would be to be in the rain out with my love. I had always envied the ones I saw in movies. Finally, a time came when I found my love but to my horror, I had grown up by then. Rain no more thrilled me, instead it gave me shivers out of cold. I gave life a heavy sigh believing that maybe I would never be able to do that. I used to try getting wet but failed to sustain the cold in about 2 min at most. Even my 'love '  is a mature kind of guy who believes that truth is stranger than fiction and he says that we can have much more fun unimaginably rather than deliberately trying to follow the ones in the movies. I was trying hard to learn these theories, me being a rather dreamy kind of girl.
                                                                          Last Sunday, we drove to the nearby park where we usually go when we feel like talking a lot or even sitting quietly holding hands. The weather was quite cloudy, being the month of July. We sat down on a bench, talking about random things. Suddenly, it struck my mind that where all the people in the park would go in case it started raining. Then, I swept aside the thought explaining myself that it doesn't rain quite suddenly and for long periods in Bangalore. Even if it rained, it would be sustainable. Anyways, then we walked around the park and decided that it was time to go home. While we took staggering steps towards the gate (well, that's our style of walking when we have fun), his phone rang.
                                                                          He took out the cellphone out and removed the cover to see his Mom calling. He disconnected it and moved towards a tree to call her back. Just as he started talking, it started drizzling. It was funny at first because none of us thought that it would rain more. So, we pushed ourselves together close to the tree which protected us from the light drizzle. In the next minute, it started raining as though it had never stopped raining since days. We didn't know what to do. I was a little unsure as to how he would react because he does not prefer me to get wet as I catch cold very fast, but to my surprise, he was laughing hard. The first thing he did was disconnecting the call explaining the situation we were in. (I am sure his Mom must be getting worried about our health after knowing about the rain).
                                                                    Then, we just walked out of the park not knowing what to do. We were almost completely wet by that time. The other people had taken shelter below the windowshed of a nearby house. Some others were standing under trees. Clearly no one knew what to do as there was only a single locked house nearby which provided very little space for shelter. We looked at each other and laughed  loud. I could see him comfortable with the rain the first time. We then decided that  getting wet on the bike was better than standing there and keep getting wet  without covering a single metre towards our home. So, off we started on our bike and then, I remembered that this was which I used to imagine always and to my surprise, I wasn't getting shivers too. Maybe the light drizzles gave shivers but this kind of sudden rain was like shower in bathroom. So, maybe my body thought that I am taking a shower and thus, didn't shiver. It was awesome as we drove away making people looking at us shocked. I am sure some of them who are romantic like me must be envying us. We really had fun. We drove slow as I was scared of the slippery road and nothing was visible to him too due to the XL size rain drops whipping hard on our faces.
                                                                   But, I am so thankful to God to give me this chance at least once. And I understood why he used to tell that natural surprises are better than deliberate attempts. It was so natural that I was on cloud Nine. When we got home, we were all dripping enough water from ourselves to create a small pool in our home. Hahaha. Thank you darling !!! You are always right...

Tuesday, February 14, 2012

Happy Valentine's Day !!!


You just hold my hand
And give me soon a shiver
This feeling itself is so strong
That makes me yours forever

The love that u give is nothing
In comparison to the understanding
The way you look into my eyes
Still more strengthens our bonding

You make me lost in your eyes
Yet that’s the only place I am safe
Damn! I would love to stay lost
And never ever try to find myself

You make me crazy for you
As if u are the only human in world
Oh! I am highly addicted dear
Perhaps that I have already told

On this day of expressing one’s love
I just want you to know that
My dreams, my life and my world
All end with u and with u they start…!!!

Monday, January 23, 2012

Tired doing nothing...

                              The day has been very boring... and I hated the day.... I was all alone at  home, had finished cooking early in the dawntime.... and had nothing else to do.... or maybe I didn't want to do anything....Exams are over and I have not even enjoyed them fully.... So, I planned out a day full of sleep...and sleep...lots of it...
                             Soon after breakfast, I came to bed expecting a lazy day..... Doesn't that sound cozy... ;)  I was on bed for hardly 10 minutes when my friend called me up saying that we need to go to the xerox shop to get some photocopies needed in our practical records.... Feeling lazy, I tried to avoid going making some excuses. But, she..she is an extremely insisting kind of girl...She gets scared of anything that our teachers say and desperately tries to scare me too. As expected, I had to get ready and walk with her to the shop. It took more than 1 hour to take a photocopy of 16 pages. Credit goes to the crowd there, considering that this was the most popular shop for students. 
                                   Upon returning, I felt very hungry and took my lunch, thinking that now, I will have extra time to sleep due to early lunch. Lying down on my little bed, I called up my Mom, talking to her for 5 mins. Before hanging up, she said, " I will call u back after lunch" to which I replied, "No, I am planning to sleep a lot today. Don't call me back. I will call u in the evening." So, I lied down and tried to grab the sleep as soon as possible. But, I am a late sleeper which made me take about 45 mins to drift into sleep. 
                                   Just as I was slowly getting intoxicated by the sleep taking over me, "ghhhuuun....ghhhuuunnnn.....ghuuun....."...that's my cellphone's vibrations near my pillow. So, I picked it up to find that my sweetheart had a lunch break. Now, this is someone I can't say that I am sleeping. My sleep automatically flies away on his voice. We talked for about 10 mins. Then again, I tried hard to get back the intoxicating cover on me..... But my bad luck, after about 15 mins, the fan stopped rotating. Oh Goddd, what was this? Still I tried...... This trying took me about 1 hr. Maybe I got a 10 min light sleep, when I heard the pounding of the door. First , I thought let it to be whoever it is. i am not getting up. Gradually, the pounding became louder. I went with half-closed eyes to find my house owner at the door. She asked me to fill some water at home, as they were going the clean the tank and so, there won't be water for few hours. I had to get up and fill 2 buckets of water. 

                                  Then, I had to attend a nature's call and later, I came back to bed. After some time, my brother called me saying that he is coming to visit me. Finally, this was too much of sleep for me. I woke up and washed my face and got ready to welcome my brother.....But sleep....well...it has to wait till night...... :)